Nashville Mayor’s Race: 14 Qualify

About Nashville

NASHVILLE, TN — Fourteen people, ranging from the mayor to a state representative to current and former councilmembers to conservative figures to political upstarts, qualified to run for mayor of Metropolitan Nashville, the Davidson County Election Commission said Friday.

Qualified candidates have one week to withdraw their names before the ballot for the election – tentatively scheduled for August 2, pending a state supreme court decision – is set.

It’s a surprisingly long list, given that money and name recognition are likely to be major factors with the relatively short campaign and with turnout getting a boost from high-profile primaries.

Here’s who qualified, alphabetically:

Carlin Alford: Director, Customer Success & Strategy for BOLDPlanning, Inc., and owner of the Middle Tennessee Storm of the Central Basketball AssociationDavid Briley: MayorRalph Bristol: Long-time conservative talk-radio hostjeff obafemi carr: Activist currently employed by a transit referendum opposition groupJulia Clark-JohnsonRoy Dale: Former Metro Councilmember, currently principal of an eponymous engineering and consulting firmErica Gilmore: Metro CouncilmemberAlbert Hacker: Former Lipscomb University centerDavid Hiland: Barber school ownerHarold Love Jr.: Minister of Lee’s Chapel AME Church, state representativeJeff NapierJon Sewell: ComedianCarol Swain: Conservative commentator, controversial former Vanderbilt professorLudye Wallace: Long-time former councilman, Nashville NAACP president, plaintiff in aforementioned election-date case

Image via Shutterstock

Source Article